Rebelde
Evento

Ilegal. Predestinado.

Cost: 0. XP: 1.

Obtén 1 recurso por cada acción que hayas realizado en este turno (incluida ésta). Si es tu turno, termina tu turno.

Dual Brush Studios
La Ciudad de los Archivos #233.
Día de cobro
FAQs (taken from the official FAQ or FFG's responses to the official rules question form)
  • Q: With Fence, can I play an Illicit asset (or appropriate event) in the after my last action? This seems a bit more prickly as I need to initiate a play action before I can give fast to the card... But then also fast cards don't use the play Action to enter play? A: Yes, you can. Fast assets can be played in any player window during your turn, including the one after your last action is taken. Fence gives the card fast before it is actually played, so this is taken into account during its initiation sequence.
Last updated
Reviews

This is practically an auto-buy for Finn Edwards, who can manage five actions right out of the starting gate using his free evade and Quick Thinking, and potentially boost it to truly absurd extremes later on with upgraded .41 Derringer and Ace in the Hole - plus he's the only Rogue who can't get his hands on a Level-4 Hot Streak.

The "end your turn" effect is mostly academic, since you want this to be your last action anyway. It's sad that Pay Day is based on the number of actions you performed "this turn" instead of "this phase," because otherwise you could get 16 resources from playing Pay Day at the end of your turn, and 17 from playing a second one on another player's turn using Quick Thinking, for a total of 33 resources! (Exactly how you'd get 17 actions on one turn is left as a fairly silly exercise for the reader.) More interestingly, the "end your turn" effect suggests that other cards with a "for each action you performed this turn" effect may eventually turn up, and they wanted to nip game-breaking combos in the bud.

So Finn definitely wants it. Does anybody else? That's a tougher call. If you've built your Rogue with decent access to extra actions (mainly using the abovementioned cards), Pay Day is a decent replacement for Emergency Cache - you get better efficiency, but it has more playing restrictions. In that way, it's analogous to Uncage the Soul.

The main problem there is that the Rogue class has lots of ways to accumulate resources, and some of them are 0-level cards, like Lone Wolf, "Watch this!", and Decorated Skull, and Pay Day doesn't distinguish itself that well. It's not bad for most Rogues, but it's not amazing either. If you're running Ace in the Hole or the upcoming Borrowed Time, though, then of course that analysis goes right out the window.

Notably, Pay Day's ability to monetize on large action-counts might induce me to like Leo De Luca again. I don't think Pay Day alone is enough to tip the scales, but perhaps someday soon...

sfarmstrong · 43
I disagree that the end your turn clause is purely academic for two reasons. The first is exactly as you stated - you could play two of them at the end of your once-per-game obscene combo turn. The second reason is that a strong economy card you play last is sometimes worse than a weak economy card earlier that lets you buy and use something immediately. You can’t use the money from payday until NEXT round, which might mean not having that juicy asset out before an enemy lands on your face. — Death by Chocolate · 10
@Death by Chocolate Good point on your second argument and to elaborate a bit on that, it gets even worse if Paranoia lurks around. — matt88 · 605
I think this card is more useful for investigators with access to rogue and another class, like skids with expansive guardian assets. I also don't get how can take 17 actions in 1 phase? Finn can get 9 with hiw own ability, leo, derringer and ace in the whole. 2x Quick Thinking and 2x Derringer add 4 more actions outside your own turn. Or did you count Borrowed Time as well? — Django · 1807
@Death by Chocolate, my point is less serious than you think - all I'm saying is that the "end your turn" mechanic is mostly irrelevant because the "for each action you performed this turn" already means you'd almost never play this other than as your last action. That whole paragraph was mainly just musing about why they even bothered with the "end your turn" bit. — sfarmstrong · 43
Yeah, Borrowed Time, plus two uses of Guidance. I also forgot about Police Badge, and you could Double or Nothing on Derringer and Quick Thinking, so technically the maximum is well into the twenties. — sfarmstrong · 43
@sfarmstrong If you’d read my post you’d see two very, VERY important balance reasons why this card would be restricted to the last action of your turn. To elaborate on using economy cards, being able to play Pay Day as your second-to-last card would be a HUGE buff as you could immediately spend the resources - easily worth getting one less resource. — Death by Chocolate · 10
@Death by Chocolate, I wasn't disagreeing with you, I was just explaining that my paragraph was more a critique of how the card was drafted rather than a serious write-up. — sfarmstrong · 43
If I use Fence to give this Fast and play it after three other actions during my turn, does playing this card count as a fourth action? In general Fast cards don't count as actions, but this card specifically says "including this one." — Runic · 1
Say I am playing Leo Anderson and play an ally using his ability. Does playing an ally count as an action for pay day? Super curious and would love to know. — Dont Blink · 1
@gyarados No. You played an ally, but you didn’t take the ‘play a card action’ which is important because otherwise it would provoke AoOs. Leo’s ability never mentions the word Action, nor does it take one. However Finn’s ability which gives an extra action for Evading WOULD count because it is explicitly an extra action. (Same for Marie, Daisy, and Ursula - not that any of them can run Pay Day). — Death by Chocolate · 10