Coste: 1. PX: 3.


Rápido. Juega esta carta durante cualquier oportunidad .

Enfréntate a cualquier cantidad de Enemigos que estén en tu Lugar. Por cada Enemigo enfrentado de esta forma, inflígele 1 punto de daño y roba 1 carta.

Te armas de valor y gritas hacia la oscuridad: ¡Venid a por mí!
John Pacer
Nathaniel Cho #30.


No faqs yet for this card.


We don't talk how ridiculously good this card would work in the Dream eaters cycle. You have two swarming (3) enemies at a location? How about dealing 6 damages and drawing 6 cards for 1 resource and without action? Such situation isn't so hard to imagine after all. I won't even talk about the action compresion.And the more players, the more powerful this card can be. This should be considered as warcrime against the dream-people.

Drostt · 57
Yeah this looks pretty busted in Dream Eaters. Nuff said. — SGPrometheus · 776
I wonder now if this actually works the way we think: don't swarm enemies engage as a single unit? So do you only get 1 card and 1 damage no matter how many swarm cards there are? — SGPrometheus · 776
SGPrometheus is correct, the example from the swarm rules makes it clear, only 1 damage: (For example, if a host enemy or any of its swarm cards are evaded, all of them exhaust and become disengaged.) — Django · 4974
That's true if you evade one of them, but in this case couldn't you still target as many of them as you want? If not maybe that has implications for Zoey's ability, or Rita's ability (after an Elder Sign pull) comboed with Survival Instinct. Seemed like most people were saying that Zoey gets 1 resource / swarm, and Rita could ping each enemy after using Survival Instinct (which evades all engaged enemies). — Zinjanthropus · 225
Yeah, I think Zoey's only supposed to get 1 resource, no matter how many swarm cards are under the host card. Likewise Taunt can only deal 1 damage and draw 1 card no matter how many swarm cards are under the host. The rules specify that swarm cards are individual enemies under MOST conditions, not all. One of the conditions under which they're not considered separate enemies is while engaging. I'm pretty sure. — SGPrometheus · 776
if you click on "rules" here on arkhamDB, search for swarm, you'll find the following rule where i copied above example from. I guess i was expecting too much of people to look up the rules themself. It clearly states that the example also applies to "engage": The host enemy and all of its swarm cards move, engage, and exhaust as a single entity. — Django · 4974
That's right, though there are some nuances that are unclear at first glance. Yeah they engage as one enemy, but you became engaged with x+1 enemies as in rules: "if an investigator is engaged with a host enemy with 2 swarm cards underneath it, that investigator is engaged with 3 enemies in total". And has two lines: first says about engaging enemies, second one about dealing damages and drawing cards. After engagement action resolves, you count the enemies that became engaged, and now there is x+1 enemies engaged with you. But well yeah, after deeper consideration, you need to count enemies that were "engaged this way", so there was only one such enemy. — Drostt · 57
This might be one of those odd cases where the action isn't necessarily linked to the effect. The Engage Action can only be used on enemies at the same location that are not already engaged with you. However, I think this might fall under the same clauses as the Evade action has when triggering many "Automatically Evade" effects often do - the specific targetting of the card ("at your location") could overwrite the general targetting set by the normal action (Engage), meaning you might be able to engage something already engaged, and therefore are able to engage every enemy in the swarm. This is definitely something I'll keep an eye on the FAQ for. — Ruduen · 933
The faq states "If a swarming enemy engages Zoey, each of its swarm cards are also enemies that have engaged Zoey. Therefore, she may trigger her ability once for each of them." So I guess that it applies for this card as well. — Pug · 1
The host enemy and all of its swarm cards move, engage, and exhaust as a single entity. (For example, if a host enemy or any of its swarm cards are evaded, all of them exhaust and become disengaged.) — Drostt · 57
Accidentally clicked post :v reading only this, it will be against the combo ruling, but, Zoey FAQ makes it in favour of combo. I would interpret it in the way Zoey FAQ is described/ — Drostt · 57

I've been playing through Edge as Mark with this on my Stick to the Plan while having Flamethrower as my big weapon. In that context I think the card is fairly good, being able to get a free engage so you can hit all your targets with Flamethrower is pretty nice, the card draw is cool too, and the extra damage gives absurd burst damage especially when combined with stuff like Beat Cop and either Vicious Blow. This is in a 4 player group with me being the main player tasked with creature control, so this is definitely a situation where that level of firepower can be sometimes needed. In this specific scenario it's fairly good, and since I got Stick to the Plan it both doesn't eat up a draw and delay my core assets like weapons and allies, while also being easily accessible whenever the situation where it's needed comes up.

If you aren't running Stick to the Plan and Flamethrower in a 4 player game where you're the big person expected to deal with all the enemies though, I'm not sure if this really cuts it outside of maybe a Nathaniel deck because he gets extra value out of the damage it deals. Most weapons work just fine if enemies are engaged with allies and if you're good at your job the risk of misfiring and harming an ally is fairly minimal to the point where I don't think it's worth spending a card on it, the xp extras are kinda nice but realistically I feel like you need to hit at least 2 enemies with it while also really needing the engage part of it to be useful too. That sort of situation won't be coming up regularly, and until then you spent 3 xp on a card that is just sitting in your hand not doing much. I feel like a lot of the time you'd just cash this card in quickly just to get something you need more immediately instead of waiting for the potential big value play which might never end up presenting itself. With this card on Stick to the Plan, you can wait for when you really need it because it's not taking up hand space or eating up a draw, and Flamethrower obviously cares a lot about being engaged with enemies rather than being able to hit them off your allies.

Sylvee · 100
Speaking of Nathaniel: the extra benefit of this card for him is the "Play during any player window" option. Because his ability is once per phase, and there are not that many cards for him to play outside the investigator phase. Particularly nice, if he can play it in Mythos phase, then follow up with a "Mano a Mano" as his first action. — Susumu · 351

How would others interpret this card working with Nathaniel Cho's special ability: "When you deal damage to an enemy by an event or a fight ability on an event: Deal 1 additional damage. (Limit once per phase.)"

Only ONE of the engaged monsters will take an extra damage from Cho? Or ALL of the engaged monsters will?

Only one of course — BraidsMamma · 8