Q: As this does not replace the Investigate action, do you still get a clue ? A: Correct, you do.
Q: This is not an Evade action, so presumably you're not limited to evading an enemy engaged with you? Similar to Stray Cat and Cheap Shot? Is it valid if Daisy uses Prophecy Foretold to investigate, and evades an enemy engaged with Zoey? A: In this case, the sentence "you may automatically evade an engaged enemy" means that you may automatically evade an enemy that is currently engaged with you—not any enemy engaged with any investigator at any location. Since this text can be potentially confusing, I will make a note to clarify this in the next iteration of the FAQ. SEE BELOW - updated FAQ, v.1.7, March 2020
Automatic Success/Failure & Automatic Evasion: Some card effects make an investigator automatically succeed or automatically fail a skill test. If this occurs, depending on the timing of such an effect, certain steps of the skill test may be skipped in their entirety.
- If it is known that an investigator automatically succeeds or fails at a skill test before Step 3 (“Reveal Chaos Token”) occurs, that step is skipped, along with Step 4. No chaos token(s) are revealed from the chaos bag, and the investigator immediately moves to Step 5. All other steps of the skill test resolve as normal.
- If a chaos token effect causes an investigator to automatically succeed or fail at a skill test, continue with Steps 3 and 4, as normal.
- If an ability “automatically evades” 1 or more enemies, this is not the same as automatically succeeding at an evasion attempt. As per the entry on “Evade” in the Rules Reference, if an ability automatically evades 1 or more enemies, no skill test is made for the evasion attempt whatsoever. Consequentially, because no skill test is made, it is not considered a “successful” evasion. The investigator simply follows the steps for evading an enemy (exhausting it and breaking its engagement).
- For example: Patrice uses the ability on Hope, which reads: “ If Hope is ready, exhaust or discard him: Evade. Attempt to evade with a base value of 5. (If you discarded Hope, this test is automatically successful.)” If Patrice chooses to discard Hope, the skill test automatically succeeds before chaos tokens are revealed; therefore Steps 3 and 4 of the skill test are skipped. However, the skill test still takes place. Cards may still be committed to the test, and the investigator’s total modified skill value is still determined, as it may have some bearing on other card abilities. However, if Patrice instead uses the ability on Stray Cat, which reads: “ Discard Stray Cat: Automatically evade a non-Elite enemy at your location,” no skill test is made whatsoever. - FAQ, v.1.7, March 2020
Sólo puedes incluir este Apoyo en tu mazo si lo mejoras a partir de los Signos arcaicos (sin traducir), y sólo si en el registro de campaña aparece "los investigadores han traducido los signos.".
Usos (3 cargas).
Gasta 1 carga: Investigar. Si tienes éxito, puedes evitar automáticamente a un Enemigo enfrentado. Esta acción no provoca ataques de oportunidad.
Baffled and disappointed when you saw this card?
Lets put things in perspective:
-This card is an arcane item, it no longer occupies the hand slot.
-This card lets you investigate without provoking attacks of opportunity.
-If you succeed on your investigation check while using this item, an enemy is automatically evaded.
It is really easy to misunderstand the purpose of this card:
-This is not the card that lets you evade with your .
-This is the card that lets you totally ignore an enemy at your location while you investigate.
The scenario you need this card for: You're the clue-hoover, you pick up nearly every clue on the map while somebody else clears the way. An enemy spawns on you, it's some small fry with a half decent fight value and 2-3 hitpoints. What now? The fighter has to come running and deal with it right? Not with this card in play! You can just keep investigating, totally ignoring the threat, and if you happen to succeed in acquiring the clues you're there for (which is highly likely) you'll have evaded the enemy as well! Now if the location hasn't been cleared yet you can keep doing this for a couple more rounds if you need to.
By far the most powerful part is the fact that this card lets you investigate opportunity attack-free. If you find yourself hard pressed by a monster (multiple monsters even) at a difficult and important location (Difficulty 4 or 5), you can use this card to get the breathing room you need to throw multiple attempts at the clues you need to close out the game.
If this is a prophecy foretold, the prophecy is “the time Rex got two actions at once.” Because tempo is vital in this game, and this costs you two bucks, 3xp, an upgrade, and an action to play… When seekers want to be getting clues all the time. Even the good Archaic glyphs are hard to find a time to put down, and they give you bonus clues. There’s an outside chance that Ursula might want this, but she would want any other version of the glyphs first. And Norman might like these with his low agility, but he can just take cheaper, easier to get mystic spells.