Rice's Whereabouts

Somehow, they knew as early as the first scenario of the first full campaign that searching the encounter deck is really hard in true solo. It makes sense to allow solo players to double the search number, especially when clues aren't that easy to get anyway.

But somehow rather than moving forward the design team has moved backward in the years since then. The finales of the dream eaters (side A) and now apparently even of Hemlock Vale (otherwise FANTASTIC for true solo) commit this utterly unfathomable mistake. But why?

Ad Hoc

The two interactions that got me curious with this one are:

  • Pitchfork/Hatchet (1): If you use Ad-Hoc to discard one of those, and the attack hits, does it get discarded (because of Ad-Hoc) or does it get attached to your location/enemy because of the successful attack?
  • Fire Extinguisher: Do you get to use the Fire Extinguishers second ability without the need to Exile it? From my understanding the Exile text is a part of the text that gets ignored.
Longeloe · 5
I really want to say that for your firsts point, both tools would end up attached to the location/enemy. Its a sneaky way to get those weapons in play without paying their cost and doesn't seem overpowered by my estimation. — coreyjson · 1
To continue on the discussion, this may or may not be a good thing. If you plan is to use Ad Hoc, Pushed to the Limit and Ad Hoc again on the same card, it doesn't work with Pitchfork since it will stubbornly attach to the location every time... — Valentin1331 · 88434
I was wondering the same - — dlouismartin · 1
Sorry - cut my reply off before I was done - ST.7 Apply skill test results. The card ability or game rule that initiated a skill test usually indicates the consequences of success and/or failure for that test. (Additionally, some other card abilities may contribute additional consequences, or modify existing consequences, at this time.) Resolve the appropriate consequences (based on the success or failure established during step ST.6) at this time. If there are multiple results to be applied during this step, the investigator performing the test applies those results in the order of his or her choice. This would indicate that success happens before you resolve. So with the Pitchfork, you succeed, then attach it to asset, so you can't really discard it with ad hoc as it's not in your possession. — dlouismartin · 1
Sorry it's overly long - lol - looks like you succeed of fail before you resolve. Seems like Ad Hoc/Pitchfork combo is legit. — dlouismartin · 1
Same for fire extinguisher - Exile is part of the ignored 'cost' ... — dlouismartin · 1
The Alarm Is Raised

I knew there had to be a Pink Floyd easter-egg in this scenario somewhere, and I was not disappointed. It's small, and subtle, but I'll take it!

Run, rabbit, run. Dig that hole, forget the sun. And when at last, you reach 200 characters, Don't sit down, it's time to click Submit.

rharding13 · 2
Luke Robinson

Ruling from Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist via the official rules question form:

Question: Let's say that location A is connected to location B which is connected to location C (location C is not directly connected to location A). If Luke Robinson is at location A and plays Shortcut(0) as if he was at location B (using his investigator ability), could he end his turn at location C? If so and location B was unrevealed, would it be revealed?

Answer: Yes; if Luke plays Shortcut while in location A, “as if” in location B, he can move from location A to location C. He does not reveal location B in doing so.

GeneralXy · 44
Hello! Can you share and forward the official ruling email (including questions and answers) you received to arkhamdbfaqs@gmail.com? This is the mailbox of the ArkhamDB FAQ maintainer, and they will update the ruling you received into ArkhamDB! — Jacksonsu · 1
Plan of Action

Ruling from Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist via the official rules question form:

Question: If I commit Plan of Action to a skill test during the Mythos Phase, would it only commit for one wild icon?

Answer: No; if you commit Plan of Action during the mythos phase, you would give it 1 willpower and 1 agility icon.

GeneralXy · 44
That ruling is the direct opposite of the one we had before, which said you don't get icons during mythos phase. But i like it, it should give those icons to make it even slightly playable, so i'm glad they changed it! — Blood&gore · 461
This card should have worked like that since day 1 — Jota · 7
I hope they release an errata for this card then. The text on the card is fairly clear: "during or before the first action of __this__ turn". In the mythos phase you're not within any "turn", so this ruling is a direct contradiction to the text on the card itself. — snacc · 1039
In English, "this ..." usually means "this upcoming .. — flamebreak · 55
...", i.e. "this upcoming turn" the FAQ just clarifies the fairly ambigous wording, it was clearly intended to be usable in the mythos. — flamebreak · 55
Also this is the first ruling on this card, there was no "previous ruling" like another commenter suggested. FFG is not contradicting themselves (in this case). — flamebreak · 55