Haste

Does haste also trigger when taking actions on Mythos or scenario cards? What about weaknesses if you have enough actions?

I suppose extra actions make it easier to trigger haste, while free actions that move you also work well to get to more clues.

Edit: Haste makes stuff like "gather ressource" and "draw card" more efficient. Gain 3 cards or 3 ressources for 2 actions? More efficient than Emergency Cache or Preposterous Sketches, if you include costs for drawing, ressources and playing them.

Free actions that grant other action types as effect don't count towards Haste cause you didn't spend an action to initiate them, like Pathfinder doesn't trigger Frozen in Fear. Examples: Double, Double, Uncage the Soul (Sefina), Ever Vigilant (Skids)

Edit2: Ignore my last paragragh, haste cares about performing the same type of action twice, not spending an action to do so. So above cards all trigger haste.

Django · 2188
If it’s got an action arrow I assume it at least counts towards “Activate”, so Id say yes. There’s plenty of encounter cards that require other specific actions as well. — StyxTBeuford · 742
Does this work with double double? — Rivilus · 1
I just realized, Haste says "types include..." which is not an exhaustive list. But it's true, weakness and encounter cards should count as "activate" like in the flashlight question. @Rivilus: Double says that you "play" that event, so i'd say it works. — Django · 2188
What about Uncage the soul (sefina) or Ever Vigilant (Skids)? — Django · 2188
After reading pathfinder, it seems stuff that doesn't cost an action doesn't trigger haste, so double and cards from my last question don't trigger either. — Django · 2188
Ignore my last comment, haste cares about performing the same type of action twice, not spending an action to do so. So above cards all trigger haste. Compared to Frozen in fear, haste cares about the resulting action type, while Frozen in fear checks if an action is initated and modifies the cost. — Django · 2188
Generally speaking, card and abilities that care about “performing” actions only count actions that spend one of your three action opportunities. Playing a fast action or using a fast ability, even one with an action designator, does not count as an action for such purposes.” Matthew Newman — Rivilus · 1
So from that I’m guessing pathfinder, double double etc don’t seem to work... — Rivilus · 1
I was going to say, I'm fairly certain Double, Double etc do not work because it doesn't cost an action, it's just a play effect. If it specifically said you received an extra play Action, it would work. This is relevant as Leo Anderson has the same effect- he gets to play an ally at the beginning of his turn, but it doesn't not count as an action and therefore won't trigger Haste. — StyxTBeuford · 742
Death's Approach

This isn't so much a review as another Luke question. If this card is in play along with Act 1a from this Scenario, can Luke ever escape from his Dream Gate (pointless reality)? Similarly if Detached from Reality is drawn while at Dream Gate (wonderous journey) while Agenda 2a+Act 1a is in play does it simply whiff?

(Sorry for not linking these cards, this is my first review and I have no idea how to do that on this website)

Sycopath · 1
As written I think cannot pretty clearly overrides flipping so while dream gate can enter play in either form and leave play in either form it cannot flip. This could mean you have to take the 2 horror on the chin, or that you get away with no effect from your weakness occasionally. — NarkasisBroon · 1
Another thing to consider is that the act and agenda have been erratad to say that "locations cannot be flipped over to their non spectral side". So the real answer to this question hinges on whether you think Dream Gate has "it's non spectral side". Clearly it has two non spectral sides, but it is unclear whether to be flipped to it's non spectral side requires it to have a spectral side. — NarkasisBroon · 1
Actually the act's errata says locations cannot be flipped to their spectral side. Dream gate definitely doesnt have a spectral side, so it isnt affected by the act at all. It may be affected by this agenda, see above — NarkasisBroon · 1
Yeah, "Luke breaks Arkham Horror"--Film at 11 :p I was also curious what people's opinions were on what in the heck the errata on Act 1a even does? Like the errata on Agenda 2a prevents a lock state if it advances before Act 1. However, I cannot discern what is gained by the errata on Act 1a. — Sycopath · 1
Empower Self

At the time of writing — Empower Self is fresh off the press — these cards are generating much discussion, here and elsewhere, positive and negative. Rightly so, they are interesting cards.

Two points to get everyone on the same page: (1) The Myriad keyword means that we may purchase all three for two experience points, but we don't have to: we can choose the one or the two we want the most. (2) The ability (+2 to a skill) is separate from the constant ability (ignore a substitution), can be used independently of it, and much of these cards' value comes from that option.

Cost

Let's be precise about the cost of getting all three into play: three cards, three actions, nine resources, and an arcane slot. To merely call that costly is to gloss over just how expensive the triple is — we need to ask ourselves: what else could we accomplish with three other cards, three actions, nine resources, and our arcane slot? Needing to search for these cards (with Lucid Dreaming for instance) adds to their effective cost. Uncage the Soul helps, but it doesn't make the issue go away: Uncage is one of several economy cards we can choose to include at the expense of other useful cards, and Mystics often already use Uncage with no shortage of targets.

Obviously, if we only plan on getting two copies or one copy into play, the cost is more manageable.

Other Skill Boosters

Empower Self, as a level two, once-per-turn skill booster, is worth comparing to the Carcosa cycle of talents: Well Prepared, Quick Study, Cornered, High Roller, and most significantly, Recall the Future.

Let's compare one copy of Empower Self to one Recall the future. Empower provides a bigger effective skill boost (that is, has a larger effect on our odds of success) to one test a round than Recall, but Recall is a resource cheaper and is slotless. Recall can also be used for any skill and often doesn't exhaust — we can pose the question: "Throughout an entire round, which asset is more likely to turn a failure into a success?" and Empower's only advantage seems to vanish.

Let's now compare two or three copies of Empower Self to two copies of Recall the Future. Triggering both Recalls provides an effective skill boost that is close to, and in some cases identical to, a true +2. Recall is still more flexible and Empower can never be used for .

While two copies of Recall costs four experience to Empower's two, I think the difference is stark enough make the comparison worthwhile: for the sake of skill boosting, I would rather have two Recalls in play than all three Empowers. This is without even considering that the former only costs us two actions, two cards, four resources.

Empower Self is only worth taking if we can also get value out of its other ability.

Ignoring Willpower Substitutions

There are three issues to overcome to make this effect useful:

(1) Much of the value of spells is in their substitution to begin with — Rite of Seeking compares very unfavorably to Fingerprint Kit as does Shrivelling to the .32 Colt. Sixth Sense, substitution aside, provides a marginal benefit which would be hard to justify. This issue is worse with higher level spells as the + they grant is worthless if we aren't using .

(2) Using for investigation spells or for combat spells is a build-around type of effect, but we are only allowed one copy of the relevant Empower Self. If we, for example, build a deck that focuses on boosting at the expense of but include Rite and Sixth Sense, then those cards are not useful until we find our single copy of Empower Self: Acuity — and if we have a deck that boosts both skills then we don't need Acuity at all.

One perk of the effect is that it allows us to use cards like Deduction or Vicious Blow with spells, but similarly, those skills need to be useful without Empower Self to be worth including in the deck.

(3) Empower wants to be used with spells, but competes with spells for arcane slots. Being able to use for Rite and for Shrivelling isn't much help if we can only have one of those spells out. Sign Magick addresses this issue but has its own cost.

The strongest spell events that use don't substitute it, they add it: Read the Signs, Spectral Razor, and Ethereal Form; though Storm of Spirits and Blinding Light do have their uses.

Who might want it?

Marie Lambeau comes to mind because she has a compelling reason to use spells besides — her additional action. A thrifty Marie might take Magnifying Glasses for her hands and take Sixth Sense to capitalize on her ability. Sixth Sense is then useful without Acuity but gets better with it. And while Marie is spending two experience on Acuity, she can pick up Alacrity for free as a kind of mostly-superior Trench Coat.

Diana Stanley is another interesting case — she likes using because she can get it up to 5 or 6, but she can't necessarily depend on it so Empower Self could be helpful. Synergy with Well Prepared bares mentioning because each Empower has double icons of its corresponding skill. Diana has the option of using her ability on Empower if she's done with one of them — but only after it actually ignores a substitution.

Spritz · 44
I still think Daisy is the natural home for this. Acuity buffs her primary stat and allows her to use Rite of Seeking as a pseudo Fingerprint Kit, which in turn frees up a hand slot for another tome. I actually published a rough deck along these lines yesterday. Even managed to find a use for Book of Shadows, which can be used for free by Daisy to keep her Rite of Seeking permanently stocked up with charges and grant action compression on every turn. Alacrity and Stamina are less useful but do offer some handy enemy management options that would otherwise require some pretty expensive and highly situational cards in the deck, so you can make a case for them. It also combos nicely with Essence of the Dream. With these assets in play Daisy can handle just about anything, at least for a while, and can pulverise any shroud level in the game. She also doesn't have the same opportunity cost with the arcane slots. It's a natural fit. Still may not be the optimal Daisy build of course, but I'm looking forward to try it out. — Sassenach · 60
That's fair — Daisy has excellent deck searching tools to find the Rite of Seeking/Acuity combo, and with 5 intellect she can make herself useful until then. — Spritz · 44
The other thing I'm thinking is that might be a signal that we're going to see Lily Chen in the next cycle. This is all highly speculative of course, but it seems likely that she would be some kind of Guardian with Mystic off class, and since the character is a martial artist there may be some kind of weapons restriction (no firearms for example). Something like this (a ritual that empowers her body and mind from within) seems like it would be a great thematic fit for this hypothetical investigator. — Sassenach · 60
A Glimmer of Hope

There are a few good synergies here to bring up. First, Minh and any version of Grisly Totem.

With Minh, each one of these can be +2 Wild, therefore making it roughly equivalent to 3 Unexpected Courages, which you can pull back from discard at will. That's honestly pretty great, and at its best, is pretty close to a never ending stream of Unexpected Courage.

With Grisly Totem, you'll get the exact same effect. If you have the Seeker Grisly Totem, you could even be drawing a card each time as well.

With Minh AND Grisly Totem, you can stack those effects. That means you'll be able to get +3 Wild icons, 3 times, on a card you can pull back to your hand from discard for 1r.

Of course, to maximize these interactions, you want to commit one and only Glimmer per round, as these abilities have per round limits.

Keep in mind that pulling back 3 Glimmers at once is a burst of 3 cards in your hand. This can empower other effects which note how many cards are in your hand, such as Curiosity, Higher Education, and so on.

Outside of Minh and Grisly Totem, the other great use of Glimmer is as discard fodder for something like Wendy, Pete, or Cornered. You can happily chuck these cards into your discard pile whenever and draw them all back when you need to. Of course, other cards are discard fodder (Winging It, et al.), however those cards can't bounce back into your hand nor do they have icons in case you need commitments. Due to its easy recursion and flexibility of use, Glimmer is the most reliable discard fodder currently in the game.

Soloclue · 897
I think Patrice is going to love this card too. — Schielman · 7
I'm not so sure this is a great Patrice card tbh. The issue for her is the action it requires to retrieve them. Other investigators can afford to take this action when they have a spare moment and then hold the cards in hand. For Patrice she can only do it when she knows she has a test to take that same turn, and this then reduces her to only two remaining actions. It also cuts down on the number of actions she can feasibly use it for. If it's a key fight or evade check she's likely to be engaged with an enemy and will need to take an AoO. Oddly, this means that the card is less flexible in Patrice than it would be in another deck. — Sassenach · 60
Patrice's Elder Sign is also relatively common because she tests often, and her Elder Sign encourages you to shuffle your deck back together sans 1 card (usually Watcher). Glimmer is actually very unlikely to fire at 2 or 3 copies in the discard in a Patrice deck. — StyxTBeuford · 742
Dream Diary

Quick question on this. It's apparently been confirmed by Matt that there's a limit of one Essence of the Dream in your bonded cards. There doesn't seem to be a limit on the number of Dream Diaries you can have in play though. Does this mean that you can theoretically hold two of them at the same time and double trigger the boost ? I'd assume that you can't have two versions of this one in play and commit for an effective +6 every time you're at a 4 shroud location, but you could for example have the Explorer and the Child version in play simultaneously and then contrive to be at a high shroud location while you have 8 cards in hand to achieve the same effect ? I don't see any obvious reason why not. It's probably not worthwhile, but with the right build this could theoretically turn into a test-passing monster. Minh could theoretically commit a +7 boost to any test anywhere on the map every turn.

Sassenach · 60
Im pretty sure you can indeed have 2 of the same or two different dream diaries and get a ?????? Essence of the dream by meeting 1 or two conditions. Personally I have been playing as mandy since these cards have been released, and I definitely prefer 1 dream diary 1 occult lexicon as my hand slots. But I did consider two different or matching dream diaries — NarkasisBroon · 1