Lesson Learned

I’m curious to understand how this interacts with Brother Xavier or True Grit in terms of allocated damage from another investigator.

By my reading of the damage rule, damage is dealt to the other investigator, then assigned to an asset, then applied to the relevant asset or investigator.

The rules don’t use the word “take” at all, so I would assume that the owner of the asset could play Lesson Learned even if not actively engaged with the attacking enemy.

Dalyn85 · 4
I believe you are correct. It does not say “your investigator card” or “after an enemy attacks you”. It simply wants to know if you took damage, which if you used an ally to soak for a friend, you are the one who took the damage I would think. — LaRoix · 1646
Lesson Learned doesn't work with Brother Xavier or True Grit if the damage was initially dealt to another investigator. This is because the "you" on Lesson Learned is to be understood as "your investigator card". Here, merely Brother Xavier / True Grit's card was dealt damage. — jd9000 · 77
How does this work with being attacked from the shadows, by enemies in the Shadows, dealing their attacks to the investigators from there? To me it seems like that should work, you're being attacked by an enemy that can indeed be counted as "nearest enemy" if there are no other enemies anywhere at any locations, and so long that there's physical damage being done? — Quantallar · 8
"Get behind me!"

Guardians thematically stands guard at the same location as the Seekers to help with spawned enemies, but that is not enough as you still have to spend Engage action to grab it if you are not the one that draws the enemy. Guardian also loves to dispose the enemy quick before its first Enemy Phase arrives, so 3 actions are not to be wasted.

"Until the end of phase" split this card to 2 use cases : Investigation Phase or Enemy Phase.

For Investigation Phase usage, this card buff all your other friends at Mythos Phase with something that feels like this very expensive Ward of Protection (5) or Disc of Itzamna (3) that could kill an enemy Mythos draw. They can go first in turn before the fighters, continue using Investigate/any business they want to do, provoking AoO, then the enemy is instantly forwarded to the Guardian fighter at good deal of probably 1 health each. Guardians love 0 horror spill (including the guardian dog). Guardian go the last, then use full 3 actions to take it out. Not only you save actions, you also gain back turn order flexibility.

Enemy Phase usage is rarer. You can defend against incoming Hunter enemy, and is a play of Prey criteria :

  • If Hunter but no Prey : No need for this card if you decided to stay, as you can already select engagement target.
  • If Hunter and has Prey that is not you : Stand guard and let it walk in. It engages with Prey instead of you, then play this card. Though, without Get Behind Me, Guardian can instead walk forward to it and take free engagement instead of standing guard and fight (i.e. standing in its way). Downside of doing that is you can no longer receive commits from your Seeker friend and also lose an action to walk. Get Behind Me still has good value opting to stand guard strategy against Prey enemy.
  • If Hunter and has Prey Only that is not you : It is almost same situation as Prey but according to the rule the Guardian no longer able to walk forward and take free engagement, you must additionally waste Engage action. Resulting in 2 wasted actions before the fight, which you may not be able to take it out. In this case, Get Behind Me can save you that 1 Engage action in addition to all other benefits of just standing ground.
5argon · 11358
Would this work with TSK Coterie Enforcer or Assassin and essentially pull them from the shadows? and — PixelFarmer · 1
No, because enemies in the shadows are not at any location. — AlderSign · 418
The Red Clock

I just wanted to point out what appears to be a misconception with this clock. From the artwork and flavor text, it is "broken but reliable" and the way the game handles this is once its played it does a different action in a 4 turn cycle.

Turn 1: +3 to next skill test. This starts during your turn, meaning this cannot be used on a mythos phase test. Turn 2: Move up to 2 spaces. Edit: As Zin said below this is not an action and so does not provole AOO. It is hence two free shortcuts you can use right then (but not stock). You may move up to twice immediately after your turn begins, but if you don't move right then it's lost. Turn 3: Gain one action this turn. Turn 4: Gain 3 resources.

And then it repeats until scenario end. It gives very powerful bonuses all in all, and they come at predictable times (reliable) but the clock is broken: you can't make it do what you want when you want it.

Unless you have an eldritch sophist.

drjones87 · 205
If you don't do a test on your turn the +3 would give you a bonus during the mytho's phase as written, its not "next test this turn" its just "next test" whenever that is, and the movement it gives you is not an action so you wouldn't get AoO, its basically just giving you two selfish shortcuts. (also eldritch sophist's can fix clocks) — Zerogrim · 296
Love it. — drjones87 · 205
Could you use haste after the two movements? — IntoxIcatIon · 1
The movement from Red Clock is not an 'action', so Hate would not count them. — darkernectron · 8
@Zerogrim:exactly how does sophist fix clock? — tasman · 1
Bandages

The "Survivor flavor" of this ability seems to read like you can only treat fresh wound with a quick bandage, otherwise something like a full boxset of First Aid kit should be better for the job. But you can tech by begging for a damage at the same location as an investigator with this card, trigger , but heal Leg Injury, Arm Injury, or -Spoiler- (that was there for long while ago) instead of an actual fresh damage you just took...

5argon · 11358
Nkosi Mabati

So, I was like checking this guy out for a sister Mary deck, and while I was looking at cards, I saw teamwork, and then I read the card again, and I thought what if I use teamwork, to give it to Stella, and when she played it, she assigns her 'sigil' to be the auto-fail... I don't think that would be beneficial at all, but if anyone would want to call an auto-fail on demand it would be her... lol

Or Father Mateo — LaRoix · 1646