Task Force

I can see this being a pretty decent support card for Parallel Roland with Red Tape. Red Tape turns this card into "fast", which means no Attacks of Opportunity, and it only costs 1 action to play, which means a LOT of action compression. It's not especially difficult for Roland to take all 3 effects for himself, but it might be better to use it to extend your fellow investigators' plays. Could be worth putting a one-of underneath Stick to the Plan.

GoldPooka · 7
Hey ! can you use this card to activate an ability of an asset requiring 2 actions such as sledgehammer but for one less action ? — Maartrix · 1
Yes, this card only saves one action of the activation cost. — AlderSign · 423
Rice's Whereabouts

Somehow, they knew as early as the first scenario of the first full campaign that searching the encounter deck is really hard in true solo. It makes sense to allow solo players to double the search number, especially when clues aren't that easy to get anyway.

But somehow rather than moving forward the design team has moved backward in the years since then. The finales of the dream eaters (side A) and now apparently even of Hemlock Vale (otherwise FANTASTIC for true solo) commit this utterly unfathomable mistake. But why?

Ad Hoc

The two interactions that got me curious with this one are:

  • Pitchfork/Hatchet (1): If you use Ad-Hoc to discard one of those, and the attack hits, does it get discarded (because of Ad-Hoc) or does it get attached to your location/enemy because of the successful attack?
  • Fire Extinguisher: Do you get to use the Fire Extinguishers second ability without the need to Exile it? From my understanding the Exile text is a part of the text that gets ignored.
Longeloe · 5
I really want to say that for your firsts point, both tools would end up attached to the location/enemy. Its a sneaky way to get those weapons in play without paying their cost and doesn't seem overpowered by my estimation. — coreyjson · 1
To continue on the discussion, this may or may not be a good thing. If you plan is to use Ad Hoc, Pushed to the Limit and Ad Hoc again on the same card, it doesn't work with Pitchfork since it will stubbornly attach to the location every time... — Valentin1331 · 81426
I was wondering the same - — dlouismartin · 1
Sorry - cut my reply off before I was done - ST.7 Apply skill test results. The card ability or game rule that initiated a skill test usually indicates the consequences of success and/or failure for that test. (Additionally, some other card abilities may contribute additional consequences, or modify existing consequences, at this time.) Resolve the appropriate consequences (based on the success or failure established during step ST.6) at this time. If there are multiple results to be applied during this step, the investigator performing the test applies those results in the order of his or her choice. This would indicate that success happens before you resolve. So with the Pitchfork, you succeed, then attach it to asset, so you can't really discard it with ad hoc as it's not in your possession. — dlouismartin · 1
Sorry it's overly long - lol - looks like you succeed of fail before you resolve. Seems like Ad Hoc/Pitchfork combo is legit. — dlouismartin · 1
Same for fire extinguisher - Exile is part of the ignored 'cost' ... — dlouismartin · 1
The Alarm Is Raised

I knew there had to be a Pink Floyd easter-egg in this scenario somewhere, and I was not disappointed. It's small, and subtle, but I'll take it!

Run, rabbit, run. Dig that hole, forget the sun. And when at last, you reach 200 characters, Don't sit down, it's time to click Submit.

rharding13 · 1
Luke Robinson

Ruling from Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist via the official rules question form:

Question: Let's say that location A is connected to location B which is connected to location C (location C is not directly connected to location A). If Luke Robinson is at location A and plays Shortcut(0) as if he was at location B (using his investigator ability), could he end his turn at location C? If so and location B was unrevealed, would it be revealed?

Answer: Yes; if Luke plays Shortcut while in location A, “as if” in location B, he can move from location A to location C. He does not reveal location B in doing so.

GeneralXy · 42
Hello! Can you share and forward the official ruling email (including questions and answers) you received to arkhamdbfaqs@gmail.com? This is the mailbox of the ArkhamDB FAQ maintainer, and they will update the ruling you received into ArkhamDB! — Jacksonsu · 1