Relentless

This card makes the most sense with Cyclopean Hammer since its unlimited uses means you'll be flattening things like Rats with the Hammer so can get 2 bucks as a bonus. You also end up overkilling beefier enemies after softening them up with the first blow. Not saying it's a must-have but worth considering if your investigator is resource hungry or as a placeholder until you level up to better cards.

Police Badge

[EDIT: A few errors have been removed, hope you enjoy the refresh regardless]. The other review in this section is already great, but as there hasn't been a new review in a while I wanted to spotlight a few more interactions with Police Badge. A few commonly known current interactions are:

  • William Yorick is the investigator which gets most mentions when it comes to Police Badge, as his ability allows him to play it from his discard pile after defeating an enemy. Scavenging can be used similarly to recur it on investigators who can take it.
  • At the time of the other review there were no tutor cards which could draw this out. Now there is Backpack and upgraded Backpack as your primary options. Tetsuo Mori can be used on any investigator that can take Police Badge as well (and for anyone with access to Seeker cards, there's of course Mr. "Rook" and No Stone Unturned - and its upgrade for Joe - though I wouldn't recommend these options).
  • Well-Maintained allows Police Badge to be recurred immediately once it's discarded. What's more, Well-Maintained plays fast and for 0 resources - so whenever you play Police Badge again you can immediately set it to recur. [Note it's each other upgrade and the item that gets recurred, so you can't repeat this forever].

An interaction I've not seen anyone talk about is:

  • Sleight of Hand (only Leo Anderson, "Skids" O'Toole and Zoey Samaras as of pre-Scarlet Keys). As long as you intend to discard Police Badge that turn, this is two free actions at the cost of one resource. This is also compatible with the Sleight of Hand taboo (i.e. that it can only be used on items level 0-3). On the whole though, this interaction is outshone The Red Clock which gives additional turns more consistently.
HungryColquhoun · 7753
How is the Joey combo infinite? You play Police Badge, attach Well-Maintained, then trigger it. Police Badge bounces back to your hand, Well-Maintained is discarded. Well-Maintained doesn't return itself to hand specifically to prevent infinite combos. — Soul_Turtle · 454
Ah, I missed that it was each "other" upgrade. I will add the necessary strike-throughs, thanks for the spot. — HungryColquhoun · 7753
Cats from Saturn

I asked FFG how to properly parse this card's Swarming X instruction (since the rules could be read as suggesting there is no "active investigator" outside of the investigation phase, creating ambiguity), and they responded as follows:

  • The “active investigator” listed on Cats from Saturn is referring to the investigator that drew the card, assuming an investigator did. It would Swarm X based on that investigator’s alarm level.

  • It would be possible for Cats from Saturn to enter play when it wasn’t drawn, so that is the case where it would Swarm X based on the highest alarm level among all investigators.

Voltgloss · 349
Crystallizer of Dreams

How does this work with Double, Double?

Let's say I play an event and attach it (both Double, Double and Crystallizer of Dreams are "after" the event so afaik, I get to choose). I then activate Double, Double and play the event as if it were in my hand. The rules say

Any time an event card is played, its effects are resolved and it is then placed in its owner's discard pile.

This leads me to these questions:

  • Can I commit the event from beneath crystallizer to its own (Double, Double-)play action since it is not really in my hand, I am only playing it as if it were?
  • Does the event get discarded from beneath crystallizer (Rules: The game state is considered to be altered throughout the duration of the indicated ability or action, from its initiation (including the paying of its costs, attacks of opportunity, etc) through the resolution of each aspect of its effect, and up until its completion.). One aspect of playing an event is, after all, discarding the card IMO
  • Can I then reattach it by using the ability on crystallizer?

I personally think no - yes - yes…what about you?

Leilasaida · 9
I am no rules expert, but my thought is that Double Double says that the event is played again as if it is in your hand. It cannot be under Crystallizer of Dreams if it's being played. — DjMiniboss · 44
I think no, no, no is correct due to the rules for the phrase "as if...". After the first play you attach it to the crystallize. If you now activate Double, double this event is considered to be in your hand (and not attached to the crystallizer). If you discard the imaginary second event and end the play action you change back to the actual physical game states which means your event is attached to the crystallizer. — Tharzax · 1
The "as if" does not change where the event is. It only allows you to play it while not physicaly in your hand. The problem here is with the undefined state, where the event is while being played . It is not in discard yet (it goes there as the last step), but it must have left your hand, otherwise you could commit it to its own test... So the question is, does the event leave the zone, from which it was initiated (in this case "in play", attached to the crystalyzer)? it will definitely be discarded though and can be attached again. — Adny · 1
The event card will still be attached to the crystallizer since you don't change the cards physically (so it never detached from the crystallizer during double double). But during the reaction of double double, that event you just played is considered to be on your hand (and is during the play action it is virtually not attached to the crystallizer). At the end of the second play action you discard the event virtually and jump back to the physical setup where the event was just attached to the crystallizer. — Tharzax · 1
@Adny I also believe that one big part of the problem is the question of 'where' the event actually is while it is being played. I checked the rules page on events and did not find any information about this. The other big problem is that both reactions trigger at the same point in time. If crystalliser could only happen after Double, Double there would be no issue here IMO. — Leilasaida · 9
@Tharzax I interpreted "play that event" as the actual event itself, not some kind of illusionary copy. Lets say I would to Double, Double Cheap Shot(2). I believe I could return it to my hand even if only one of the two instances suceeded by 3 or more since it would literally be the same event. What makes you think the event is not physically being played again? — Leilasaida · 9
You can find the answer for both questions in the entry for "as if", where it's written "The indicated ability or action is resolved with the altered game state in mind, but the actual game state remains unchanged." and further explanations. — Tharzax · 1
@Leilasaida: Yes, it is the same physical card being played, from where ever it ended (corollary: RfG/Exiled cards cannot be doubled as they are not part of the game anymore). @Tharzax: you interpret the cited rule incorrectly. The game state remains unchanged. The event is never "virtualy not attached". The "as if" only circumvents the rule, that events are played from your hand and lets you play it from wherever. After you choose to play it, it enters the big black void not defined in rules as any other event played from hand. — Adny · 1
Yes, I agree with Adny. — Kryha30 · 17
No, yes, yes. — snacc · 982
@Adny While I share your interpretation of how "as if" works, just a small heads up: in the FAQ for double, double it is stated that you can "absolutely use it on the painted world" which is removed from the game. — Leilasaida · 9
Playing an event constits out of thee steps: 1. Paying costs, 2. resolve effects and 3. discard the event. The Rule for "as if" says "The game state is considered to be altered throughout the duration of the indicated ability or action, from its initiation (including the paying of its costs, attacks of opportunity, etc) through the resolution of each aspect of its effect, and up until its completion.". And while assests are put into play events stay in your hand until they are discarded. — Tharzax · 1
Khopesh of the Abyss

I have a question about using this card effectively. I'm playing as Nathaniel Cho with Bandolier and Boxing Gloves and I think the card is a cool fit. I think the economy is there. I have Emergency Cache on Stick to the Plan and I used Versatile to cheat in a copy of Astounding Revelation to be able to effectively have 10 resources turn 1. Additionally, I'm running Clean Them Out, "I've had worse…", and Stand Together to help keep resources flowing without slowing the game down.

I've considered running Relentless as well since Nathaniel has a tendency to (or at least the ability to) deal overkill damage.

Setup-wise I don't mind waiting until Bandolier comes in. In the absolute worst case scenario this is a 2 will or 2 might commit in an otherwise perfectly functioning deck. In the best case, I kill something and teleport to an aloof an enemy with doom and engage it. Everyone cheers as Nathaniel the Flying Boxer kills a 1 health cultist.

My problem every time I try to run this in a deck, my friends say "I don't want to do the Guardians of the Abyss side quest". What can I do about this?

SorryLaurie · 594
Talk to them and ask why they don't want to play the scenario again and try to find a solution? For example you can offer to buy it with xp like other cards (I think 5 XP would be my first shot for this compared with the brand) — Tharzax · 1
It's hard and require some luck to get the Khopesh if you're doing a blind run at Guardians of the Abyss for the first time, esp. playing with hard/expert difficulty. But the Guardian side quest is really fun and challenging. Your friends are missing out. — liwl0115 · 41