Garrote Wire

Okay, Where the Gods Dwell seems to be made for Rogues with 2 absolutely insane cards to use in Rogue decks. Yet again with this card a Rogue has an ability for a free action. As far as I understand the Rules, the ability here triggers the bold Fight action, which than is an action on it's own, so it would add to Pay Day or Haste. Imagine being engaged with 2 enemies, using a fight action on the first one, putting it to 1health remaing, using Garrot Wire next to finish that enemy, afterwards using Haste to attack the other enemy and that just was 1 action! On top of it, a rogue does not have such strong competition on the Accessory Slot, there is no St. Hubert's Key or Holy Rosary or Police Badge to compete so it is very close to an auto include in rogue decks to me.

thakaris · 199
Disagree on the lack of competition for accessories. Rogues have both Crystallizer of Dreams (an amazing flex accessory) and Lucky Cigarette Case (an amazing econ one). A rogue taking lots of extra actions is going to be drawing a card almost every turn from the Cig Case. The Garrot Wire seems fine in some specialized decks, but you probably don't need its ability that much with good action economy, and you might have a lot of trouble even using its ability since it basically requires an odd health enemy. Without combat boosts the wire doesn't even hit that reliably, and the only Rogue for whom it would hit reliably- Tony Morgan- get a free fight action anyway and would vastly prefer either of the other accessories. The fact that it works with Haste is cool, and I could see it with Relic Hunter, but I definitely do not think it's that easy of a take. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
Ahh Action/Action/Ability confusion. I don’t think this qualifies for haste as, while it has the Fight action designator it isn’t *really* an ‘action’ it’s a triggered ability. I don’t think it qualifies for either Haste or Payday etc — Difrakt · 1327
As I understand RAW it qualifies: „ Some abilities have bold action designators (such as Fight, Evade, Investigate, or Move). Activating such an ability performs the designated action as described in the rules, but modified in the manner described by the ability.“ so the fast action designator on the Garrot triggers the action fight. As I do understand RAW, fight is an action and the trigger ability is fast which are different components. — thakaris · 199
Regarding the competition on the Accessory slot, in my opinion Lucky Cigarette Case is kind of redundant the way I play most Rogues. Usually I build my Rogues with a 2 Pickpocketings lv.2 and have them do a lot of evasion which will give them 2 cards if both are in play. That is already a pretty decent card draw, so I usually don't take the Cigarette Case. This might not be true for all Investigators (e.g. Jenny) and it is just my playstyle, but that is why in my opinion competition is not that strong. — thakaris · 199
It’s a free fight action, it does qualify for Haste. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
It's not a free fight action, it's a free fight triggered ability. Therefore no Haste nor PayDay combo. — Fishiste · 153
That is actually correct, it doesn't qualify for Haste, that was my bad. Similar to Shortcut 2 and Leo Anderson's ability- it doesn't actually cost an action so it doesn't qualify. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
Actually, looking back at the rules, I have literally no idea. Bold designators do *perform* the action. It doesn't require you spent it, only that you performed it, so I kind of feel it does count. I'm not going to say definitively one way or the other because this has been a headache for me today. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
Free Triggered abilities neither trigger nor interrupt Haste, just like they don't provoke AoOs or cost an action. — Xenas · 7
They dont provoke AOO because the rules ref specifically says they dont, but I found the reason why it doesnt work. Bold designators are modified by the cost, and in this case the modifier is a free trigger, so they are no longer actions and therefore do not count towards Haste. You still perform a Fight, but it’s not a performed action. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
For me, this is still absolutely clear. Haste triggers, if you PERFORM the same action twice, Pay Day counts the actions PERFORMED., they do not state anything about cost or require one of your investigators actions to be spent, Haste and Pay Day talk about PERFORM. Now, the rules for bold action designators read "Activating such an ability PERFORMS the designated action". Pathfinder does not qualify, since "move" is not bold on this card, if I remember correctly. — thakaris · 199
If it doesn't make Take the Initiative worse, it doesn't work for Haste. Thats my take. — Xenas · 7
@thakaris I understand that rationale and I was having trouble seeing past that as well. The reasoning, again, is the rules also say the designators perform the actions as modified. It turns out the fast triggers weirdly modify them to simply not be actions. Haste cares that they are performed actions, but modifying them to not be actions means they no longer count towards Haste (because they need to still be actions). If you want to hear it from Matt Newman himself, this thread explains it: https://community.fantasyflightgames.com/topic/301629-what-counts-as-a-performed-action-and-what-doesnt/?tab=comments — StyxTBeuford · 13052
I will correct myself on one thing though- this thing is actually a ton of fun with Tony. Maybe it is a bit redundant, but if you're specializing as a fighter it's a great end game accessory. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
The Black Cat

Finally a card to dump an otherwise unused . How often did I draw an when playing Zoey Samaras and felt betrayed by the chaos back, because I was testing on a Willpower treachery and not on a fight check. Countless time I drew the when playing Ursula Downs and quitly thought "Okay, I have a free move, if I would only need to move right now, which I don't". Any Investigator with a pretty situational effect should consider this. It is Chaos Bag control at its best. It is absolutely worth 5xp to me.

thakaris · 199
Guardians have some of the most situational/least useful elder signs, plus access to trusted which boosts this cards effectiveness by a bunch — Difrakt · 1327
Great one for Norman Withers, especially if he's running max level Shrivelling or Azure Flame. — Krysmopompas · 367
Not sure, if you meant that, but the damage or horror from Azur Flame/ Shrivelling is not a "normal effect" from the token, but an effect from the spell. Since the token is NOT canceled by the cat, it would still trigger. — Susumu · 382
Shining Trapezohedron

This in theory looks like good Mystic card. As a Mystic you already want to stack willpower boosts. This lets you willpower not only to cast spells, but also pay for them. If you get to 6-7 willpower, you are almost guaranteed to be able to play 2-3 resources spell each turn for free. I'd say this pairs well with Jewel of Aureolus, allowing you to reveal more tokens and generate more resources and cards, but they both cost XP, and use same slot. But I can see funny Agnes 2x Relic Hunter build, where you want to use this,Jewel of Aureolus and Heirloom of Hyperborea and play as many spells as possible, while drawing insane number of cards while doing this. This would be deck with pretty large ramp up, but after getting set up, you should cycle through your deck at insane speed.

picollo · 211
Mystics are starting to look like B.A. with all the accessories they have now. "Whut you talkin' 'bout?" — bern1106 · 2
is it possible to lesser the cost of the will test by 1 if you combo it with Robes of Endless Night? — Dukarrio · 2
Yes it combos as it says resource cost not printed resource cost. — Hyperbolic_Mess · 1
Crystallizer of Dreams

Can we get an official ruling on whether The Painted World can be placed under Crystallizer of Dreams? I understand the arguments for and against this in other reviews, but there still seems to be some uncertainty.

My take is that according to the section "Play" in the Rules Reference, TPW is played after you choose a card to copy and pay the appropriate number of resources. You can then activate Crystallizer of Dreams, and only at this time. Then the Painted World/copied event effects are resolved, including a new "Instead of discarding..." effect. Then according to the "instead" section of the rules reference (see below), the most recent replacement (the one on TPW) is used. So the combo doesn't seem to work.

"The word “instead” is indicative of a replacement effect. A replacement effect is an effect that replaces the resolution of a triggering condition with an alternate means of resolution. =If multiple replacement effects are initiated against the same triggering condition and create a conflict in how to resolve the triggering condition, the most recent replacement effect is the one that is used for the resolution of the triggering condition."

jmmeye3 · 632
TPW does the replacement effect while playing, Crystallizer’s replacement is *after* playing, therefore is the more recent effect — Difrakt · 1327
I like that interpretation because I want to try the combo, but the "play" section of the Rules Reference seems to suggest that the card is "played" after its cost is paid and any restrictions and conditions are met, but before resolving the effects of the event. Here's the quote: "Any time an event card is played, its effects are resolved and it is then placed in its owner’s discard pile." This seems ambigious, but to me fits better with playing being separate from both resolving the effects in the text box and separate from discarding the event. — jmmeye3 · 632
It's been debated back and forth and no one can come to a solid ruling right now- strong arguments exist both ways. It's literally just going to have to be FAQ'd. Until then, play this in Sef however it makes sense to you, or just don't play it with her. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
i don't see, where can be any confusion. Apendix I. clearly states, that the card is considered played AFTER its effects are resolved — Adny · 1
I really do not think this is the place to settle FAQ disputes. Threads upon threads, even here, have already gone back and forth over the card. Just wait for it to be settles officially, there's little point in continuing these discussions on DB. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
Mists of R'lyeh

I just finished reviewing the level zero version of this card (see Mists of R'lyeh), so figured I'd take a look at the all-grown-up variety. On its own, I think it's pretty great -- for two resources, you get an asset that almost guarantees you five successful evade checks, and some additional mobility to boot. But of course, the real question is not whether this card is good, but whether it is so much better than the original Mists that we'd pay 4xp to upgrade into it. And I think the answer there is no.

This card is identical to the level zero version but for two changes: you get an additional charge, and you get a hefty +3 to the evade check.

Let's take the extra charge: how often are mystics going to need to evade five times in a scenario? Rarely, I would think. So while the insurance is nice, I think I'd prefer to use my xp on other things.

How about the +3 boost? Obviously that is much appreciated. A 4 on 3 check feels very different than a 7 on 3 check. But again, I wonder if it is really worth a massive 4xp. I feel like I could keep the original Mists make do with some static will boosts and the odd pitch from the hand.

In short, this card seems a little TOO premium. I might opt for a trim that provides, say, a +2 to the will check and no extra charges for 2xp. But this one tries to sell me more than I really need.

Though if you're taking Arcane Research then it only costs 2 XP, which seems fine if you already took the level 0 version anyway. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
Yeah, and if you have two AR's (and resulting mental trauma), you may be steering clear of Shrivelling anyway, thus opening up a slot for the Pea Soup Fogs of R'lyeh. If I were playing a seekerly mystic mainly looking to stay out of harm's way, I'd feel very safe indeed with this in play. — Mordenlordgrandison · 464
For anyone who has access to both (which is just Akachi and Marie I think), I prefer Suggestion. Suggestion [1] is 3 fewer XP for a comparable skill bonus, and Suggestion [4] has that nifty attack-cancellation ability. Of course you do lose out on the free movement, and the extra buck isn't nothing. — Yenreb · 15
I would be rather surprised, if we don't see "Mists of R'lyeh (2)" in "Return to Forgotten Age". "Rite of Seeking (2)" was also in the corresponding Return box. — Susumu · 382
I was right. There is now a picture of all the cards here: https://imgur.com/a/QVN351E However, turned out, that even the 2 XP version has the extra charge and instead a less great +1 boost. Still, the option to "free upgrade" it over 4 scenarios might be worth it, after you upgraded your other priority spells faster. — Susumu · 382