Q: Does Arcane Research with Archaic Glyphs, where you're upgrading a non-Spell into a Spell? A: Arcane Research reads "After each scenario of a campaign, reduce the experience cost of the first Spell card you upgrade before the next scenario by 1." In order to gain the experience discount from Arcane Research, you must be upgrading a card with the Spell trait. You would not get the experience discount if you are purchasing a new Spell, nor would you get the discount if you are upgrading a card that does not have the Spell trait (even if that card would upgrade into a card with the Spell trait).
Additionally, the minimum experience cost for upgrading any card is always 1 (see Experience), so you would need to be paying 2 or more experience in order for the discount to apply.Ruling overturned: I will reverse my earlier ruling to suit the language in the FAQ, as this directly contradicts the minimum stated in the Rules Reference. The 1xp minimum does not apply to upgrading cards, and Arcane Research can therefore decrease the xp cost to upgrade a card to 0.
Q: Can you include Arcane Research in your deck at the start of the campaign? If so, do you take the mental trauma? A: Yes, you can, and yes, you should. Any card effects that resolve when a card is purchased should be resolved when that card is chosen to be included in your starting deck.
- Q: If you decide to purchase Arcane Research after a scenario, can you take advantage of the discount it provides immediately? A: No, you cannot. The text "After each scenario of a campaign…" indicates that Arcane Research must be in your deck at the time the scenario concludes in order to take advantage of its text. (Essentially, it triggers immediately after the scenario, and creates a lasting effect.) If you purchase it in between two scenarios, it is too late to trigger its ability for the scenario just played. [Note that this is different from a card like Adaptable which simply reads "In between each game of a campaign..." At the time you purchase Adaptable you are still in between two games of a campaign, so you may take advantage of its ability immediately.]
Cuando adquieras Investigación arcana, sufre 1 trauma mental.
Después de cada escenario de una campaña, reduce en 1 el coste de experiencia de la primera carta Hechizo que mejores antes del siguiente escenario.
How do I say auto-include in ancient Mesopotamian?
What about two of? Most mystics want this as at least a two of. Some want it as a one of as some mystics cannot play it well with shriveling.
Agnes is probably the best example of this, as the trauma will need to be healed and it will reduce her maximum number of character ability triggers.
But for everyone else. Take at least one or two if you are feeling ballsy.
It IS that good.
A fantastic card that'll help propel Mystics up the spell upgrade tree. Spells are expensive, and even though there's just a handful of targets as of the writing of this review, what is available is quite expensive!
All the better if you're playing with Carolyn Fern in your group of Investigators, as she can turn that pain into profit.
(Edit: 12/1/19, Return to Dunwich).
This is quite good, despite the risks involved. Take 2!
Each scenario finished with this on the table basically nets you +2 XP for every scenario throughout a campaign. To maximize profits the current ideal path is probably:
That nets you several incredibly powerful cards for just 6 XP, but it will take an entire 8 Scenario Campaign (With New Orleans. Cairo and Venice Thrown in) to make it all the way to this point, for the sake of sheer power in a deck as soon as possible you can choose to forego a few of these triggers to gain a stronger deck earlier, for example spending the 4 XP to finish up Shrivelling before scenario 3.
So, now that some of the most important tools in your deck will basically level themselves up for free, what to do with all the XP you earn?! This is the REAL fun of this card, now all the cool cards like Seal of the Elder Sign, Time Warp and Recharge can make MUCH earlier appearances!
So, when do you take this? On easier difficulties (Standard/Easy) I don't see no reason not to take this, but even so a few Investigators don't quite synergize with this card, Jim Culver for example is the most consistent dude in the game but he is also very very squishy, if you don't see the Jim's Trumpet very very early then you stand to suffer some unwelcome defeats at the hand of the very Shrivelling card's you took Arcane Research to upgrade. Grab Fearless asap to counter the extra horror.
Does anyone know if say - Daisy could take this card and purchase the 3XP version of Shrivelling? Her deckbuilding requirements say Seeker cards level 0-5 and Mystic Cards level 0-2. Arcane research lowers the XP cost of the first spell card you purchase by 1. Does this lower the "level" of the card or just the XP "cost" of the card? These these things different?